// Monitoring the energy transition in Germany

A wide range of data and statistics has been compiled in the field of renewable energy sources. It is the responsibility of the German Federal Government to analyse, compress and explain this data as part of its annual monitoring report under the aegis of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs (BMWi). The report, which compiles up-to-date facts relating to the expansion of renewable energy sources, provides a detailed overview of the progress made by the energy transition.
In the context of a scientific assessment, an independent committee of experts led by Prof. Dr Andreas Löschel subsequently proceeds to determine whether the targets of the energy transition were met in the reporting year as planned. The Executive Chairman of ZSW, Prof. Dr Frithjof Staiß, is a member of this four-member committee. According to the German Federal Government, the industrial engineer was appointed to the renowned group of experts in October 2011 and re-appointed in April 2019. From 1 July 2019, the government appointed Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm, holder of the Chair of Economic Theory at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg and member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, and Prof. Dr. Barbara Lenz, Director of the Institute for Transport Research of the German Aerospace Center and Professor of Transport Geography at Humboldt University Berlin, as new members. Aside from its involvement in the committee, ZSW has also been involved in all amendments of the Renewable Energy Sources Act (EEG) and various evaluation reports in a supervisory capacity. In addition, the institute also headed up the independent specialist committee AGEE-Stat (Renewable Energy/Statistics working group) on behalf of the Federal Ministry of the Environment. The work carried out by this working group also benefits the Energy Transition Committee.


industrial engineer Maike Schmidt
+49 711 78 70-232
Expert commission on the monitoring process "Energy of the Future" from left to right: Prof.in Dr. Barbara Lenz, Prof. Dr. Andreas Löschel, State Secretary Feicht, Prof. Dr. Fritjof Staiß and Prof.in Dr. Veronika Grimm. Copyright BMWi/Andreas Mertens

This Website uses cookies and third-party content

On this website, we use cookies which are absolutely necessary for displaying its content. If you click on “Accept cookies chosen”, only these necessary cookies are used. Other cookies and content by third parties (such as YouTube videos or maps by Google Maps) are only set with your consent by choosing “Accept all cookies”. For further information, please refer to our data protection policy where you can withdraw your consent at any time.