The ZSW foundation has two organs, the Board of Trustees and the Board of Directors. The scientific/technical tasks are currently organised into ten technical departments. The two business divisions "Photovoltaics" and "Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage" and the division "Energy Policy and Energy Carriers" integrate the technical departments into larger research fields. The Heads of the Business Divisions are also scientific members of the Board of Directors.

The Central Division Finance, Human Resources and Legal embraces the administrative areas of Management, Public Relations, Finances, Controlling, Personnel, and Organisation and is headed by the CEO.

Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. Christian Mohrdieck, cellcentric GmbH & Co. KG

Vice Chairmen
Prof. Dr. Uli Lemmer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Weber, University Ulm, President

Ministries and Organisations
  • Ministerialdirigent Ulrich Benterbusch, German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy
  • Ministerialdirigent Engelbert Beyer, German Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Dr.-Ing. Klaus Bonhoff, German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure
  • Dr.-Ing. Ronny Feuer, Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts, State of Baden-Württemberg
  • Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus, Ministry for Economic Affairs, State of Baden-Württemberg
  • Dr. Ulrich Maurer, Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector, State of Baden-Württemberg
Universities Stuttgart and Ulm
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Ressel, University Stuttgart, Rector
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Weber, University Ulm, President
German Aerospace Research Centre
  • Dipl.-Ing. Bernhard Milow, Director Technology Marketing
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Auer, Steinbeis-Stiftung für Wirtschaftsförderung
  • Dr. Marion Dreyer, Dialogik Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft für Kommunikations- und Kooperationsforschung GmbH
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie GmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Angelika Heinzel, Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Janek, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
  • Prof. Dr. Uli Lemmer, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
  • Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Armin Diez, ElringKlinger AG
  • Dipl.-Ing. (FH), MBA Klaus Eder, Stadtwerke Ulm/Neu-Ulm
  • Dr.-Ing. Christoph Erdmann, Messer Group GmbH
  • Rainer Hald, Varta Microbattery GmbH
  • Dr. Peter Lamp, BMW Group
  • Dieter Manz, Manz GmbH Management Consulting and Investment
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Mohrdieck, cellcentric GmbH & Co. KG
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Münch, Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • Dipl.-Ing. Roland Pröger, Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG
  • Dr. Oliver Schauerte, Volkswagen AG
Board of Directors

Prof. Dr. Frithjof Staiß
CEO and head of the Energy Policy and Energy Carriers Division

Link to executive board profile


Prof. Dr. Michael Powalla
Member of the board and head of the Photovoltaics Division

Link to executive board profile


Prof. Dr. Markus Hölzle
Member of the board and head of the Electrochemical Energy Technologies

Link to executive board profile

Board of Directors (from left to right): Prof. Dr. Markus Hölzle, Prof. Dr. Frithjof Staiß and Prof. Dr. Michael Powalla