The ZSW was established in 1988 as a non-profit foundation under the civil code.

The goal of the foundation is: " conduct and promote research and development in the field of renewable energies, energy efficiency, energy conversion and storage, with a focus on solar energy and hydrogen technology, in co-operation with universitary and non-universitary research and by transferring the results into industrial application."

(Statutes of 26 October 2012)

We are furthermore dedicated to informing the public and offer consulting and support regarding the use of renewable energies.

// Donators

The following institutions and companies pertain to the donators of ZSW:


  • Land Baden-Württemberg
  • Universität Stuttgart
  • Universität Ulm
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.


  • Aare-Tessin AG für Elektrizität
  • Adolf Würth GmbH & Co. KG
  • Daimler AG
  • EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • Fichtner GmbH & Co.
  • IN-TEC GmbH
  • Martin Fritz Marketing Kommunikation GmbH
  • Messer GmbH
  • Robert Bosch GmbH
  • Schlaich Bergermann und Partner
  • Telefunken Electronic GmbH
  • Verband für Energie- und Wasserwirtschft Baden-Württemberg e. V.
    (ehemals: Verband der Elektrizitätswerke Baden-Württemberg e.V.)

Would you like to support one of the leading European energy research institutes with your endowment contribution? We are looking forward to your enquiry!